History Of The Church
Around 1877 Methodism was established in Maghaberry when two local ladies, a Miss Balmer and a Miss Davidson raised sufficient funds to build a small church with an attached dwelling at the crossroads in the centre of the village. In 1886 the premises were transferred under lease to local trustees from the Sir Richard Wallace estate. In the following years the building was closed on two occasions for regular worship and at one stage was almost put up for sale. The building became known locally as the “Black House” probably because of the dark stonework but was subsequently refurbished and rendered white in the early eighties. The building was reopened for worship in 1982 and a mobile classroom was sited beside the church for youth work.
During this period, an agreement was reached with Soldierstown Parish that they would also use the refurbished building for weekly worship and thus began a co-operation that has continued to the present with local Church of Ireland parishioners.
The new church hall was built and opened in 1986 to facilitate the expanding youth work. At the turn of the century the Maghaberry Leaders began to explore the possibility of building a new church adjacent to the church hall and thus benefit from having both facilities on the one site. The old church building was sold and the new church opened in 2003.
The Methodist and local Church of Ireland congregations began to work more closely together in 2001 and held joint services over the summer months. The relationship flourished to the point where the two congregations permanently joined for Sunday worship in January 2006. This united congregation became known as “The Church on the Hill”.